A.J. Brown Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

A.J. Brown Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List October 11, 2017

2017 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Sophomore wide receiver A.J. Brown has been added to the watch list for the 2017 Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation released Wednesday.

Brown is one of nine players nationwide added to the watch list after totaling 500+ yards receiving through the first five games. The 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 7, 2017, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will air on ESPN from 6-8 p.m. CT. College Football Hall of Famer, Heisman Trophy winner, and Biletnikoff Award voter Desmond Howard will present the trophy on the show.

Brown, who has already surpassed his 2016 total in catches and receiving yards, is off to a hot start averaging 100.8 yards per game. The Starkville, Mississippi, native leads the Southeastern Conference in receiving yards (504), yards per game (100.8) and receptions per game (5.4). He’s also tied for the team lead and fourth in the conference with four touchdowns, already doubling his total as a freshman.

The 6-foot-1 wideout etched his name into the record books in the season opener, breaking the school record for receiving yards in a game (233) against South Alabama. He backed that with a two-touchdown day and 156 yards in the UT Martin game. Most recently, Brown hauled in a career-high 10 receptions for 109 yards at No. 12 Auburn, putting him 22nd in the NCAA in receiving to this point.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the season’s outstanding college football receiver regardless of position (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass, hence tight ends, slot receivers, and backs, inside receivers, wide receivers, split ends, and running backs are eligible) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., (TQCF).

The TQC Foundation, Inc., is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Past Chairman & Chairman-elect and Founding Trustee Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc., that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. The TQC Foundation, Inc., joined the idea of a college receiver’s award to the organization’s vision and created the outstanding award and dynamic organization.

Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2016 FanVote and FanForum. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three), and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State. The Biletnikoff Award FanForum consists of fan-created discussion topics that allow sports fans to voice their opinions.

To access the Biletnikoff Award FanVote, go to

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram in addition to